Passover: First of Seven Annual Festivals

Leviticus 23:4-5  

“These are the feasts of the LORD, holy convocations which you shall proclaim at their appointed times. On the fourteenth day of the first month at twilight is the LORD’s Passover.”

Leviticus 23 lists all of God’s commanded appointments—His annual festivals and Sabbath days (see our article “The Seven Feasts of the Lord”). The first of the annual festivals is the Passover, which the New Testament shows is a memorial of Jesus Christ’s sacrifice for our sins.

Learn more about the Old Testament and New Testament Passover in “Passover: What Did Jesus Do for You?” and related articles.

Read more about all of the festivals and how they picture God’s plan of salvation in our free booklet From Holidays to Holy Days: God’s Plan for You.

New Call-to-action

Discern is published every two months and is available in digital and print versions. Choose your preferred format to start your subscription.

Print subscriptions available in U.S., Canada and Europe


Please choose your region:


Discern Article Series

Christ Versus Christianity
Walk as He Walked
Christianity in Progress
Wonders of God's Creation
Ask a Question